Skip to main content

JuiceFS 是什么?

JuiceFS 是一款面向云环境设计的高性能共享文件系统,在 AGPL v3.0 开源协议下发布。提供完备的 POSIX 兼容性,可将海量低价的云存储作为本地磁盘使用,亦可同时被多台主机同时挂载读写。

使用 JuiceFS 存储数据,数据本身会被持久化在对象存储(例如,Amazon S3),而数据所对应的元数据可以根据场景需要被持久化在 Redis、MySQL、SQLite 等多种数据库中。

JuiceFS 提供了丰富的 API,可以在不修改代码的前提下无缝对接已投入生产的大数据、机器学习、人工智能等应用平台,为其提供海量、弹性、低价的高性能存储。

核心特性

  1. POSIX 兼容:像本地文件系统一样使用,无缝对接已有应用,无业务侵入性;
  2. HDFS 兼容:完整兼容 HDFS API,是大数据集群实现存储计算分离架构的理想存储选择;
  3. S3 兼容:提供 S3 Gateway 实现 S3 协议兼容的访问接口;
  4. 云原生:通过 Kubernetes CSI Driver 可以很便捷地在 Kubernetes 中使用 JuiceFS;
  5. 多端共享:同一文件系统可在上千台服务器同时挂载,高性能并发读写,共享数据;
  6. 强一致性:确认的修改会在所有挂载了同一文件系统的服务器上立即可见,保证强一致性;
  7. 强悍性能:毫秒级的延迟,近乎无限的吞吐量(取决于对象存储规模);
  8. 数据安全:支持传输中加密(encryption in transit)以及静态加密(encryption at rest);
  9. 文件锁:支持 BSD 锁(flock)及 POSIX 锁(fcntl);
  10. 数据压缩:支持使用 LZ4Zstandard 压缩数据,节省存储空间;

JuiceFS 适用于所有文件形式数据的管理、分析、归档、备份。尤其可以支持大数据分析和机器学习对数据存储的需求。

POSIX、HDFS、NFS、S3 兼容让 JuiceFS 不会对客户的业务系统带来任何侵入性,零成本替换。运维人员不用再为可用性、灾难恢复、监控、扩容等工作烦恼,专注于业务开发,提升研发效率。同时运维细节的简化,也让运维团队更容易向 DevOps 团队转型。

技术架构

JuiceFS 文件系统由三个部分组成:

  • JuiceFS 客户端:协调对象存储和元数据存储引擎,以及 POSIX、Hadoop、Kubernetes、S3 Gateway 等文件系统接口的实现;
  • 数据存储:存储数据本身,支持本地磁盘、对象存储;
  • 元数据引擎:存储数据对应的元数据(metadata)包含文件名、文件大小、权限组、创建修改时间和目录结构,支持 Redis、MySQL、TiKV 等多种引擎;

image

作为文件系统,JuiceFS 会分别处理数据及其对应的元数据,数据会被存储在对象存储中,元数据会被存储在元数据服务引擎中。

数据存储 方面,JuiceFS 支持几乎所有的公有云对象存储,同时也支持 OpenStack Swift、Ceph、MinIO 等私有化的对象存储。

元数据存储 方面,JuiceFS 采用多引擎设计,目前已支持 Redis、TiKV、MySQL/MariaDB、PostgreSQL、SQLite 等作为元数据服务引擎,也将陆续实现更多元数据存储引擎。欢迎 提交 Issue 反馈你的需求。

文件系统接口 实现方面:

  • 通过 FUSE,JuiceFS 文件系统能够以 POSIX 兼容的方式挂载到服务器,将海量云端存储直接当做本地存储来使用。
  • 通过 Hadoop Java SDK,JuiceFS 文件系统能够直接替代 HDFS,为 Hadoop 提供低成本的海量存储。
  • 通过 Kubernetes CSI Driver,JuiceFS 文件系统能够直接为 Kubernetes 提供海量存储。
  • 通过 S3 Gateway,使用 S3 作为存储层的应用可直接接入,同时可使用 AWS CLI、s3cmd、MinIO client 等工具访问 JuiceFS 文件系统。

应用场景

JuiceFS 为海量数据存储设计,可以作为很多分布式文件系统和网络文件系统的替代,特别是以下场景:

  • 大数据分析:HDFS 兼容,没有任何特殊 API 侵入业务;与主流计算引擎(Spark, Presto, Hive 等)无缝衔接;无限扩展的存储空间;运维成本几乎为 0;完善的缓存机制,高于对象存储性能数倍。
  • 机器学习:POSIX 兼容,可以支持所有机器学习、深度学习框架;共享能力提升团队管理、使用数据效率。
  • 容器集群中的持久卷:Kubernetes CSI 支持;持久存储并与容器生存期独立;强一致性保证数据正确;接管数据存储需求,保证服务的无状态化。
  • 共享工作区:可以在任意主机挂载;没有客户端并发读写限制;POSIX 兼容已有的数据流和脚本操作。
  • 数据备份:在无限平滑扩展的存储空间备份各种数据,结合共享挂载功能,可以将多主机数据汇总至一处,做统一备份。

更详细的信息请查看 解决方案

数据隐私

JuiceFS 是开源软件,采用对象存储和数据库分别存储数据和其对应的元数据。你存储的数据会按照一定的规则被拆分成数据块,保存在你自己定义的对象存储中,数据所对应的元数据则存储在你自己定义的数据库中。如果需要,你可以通过阅读 JuiceFS 的代码,对数据隐私的设计做进一步的了解和审计。

注意:如果你使用的是 JuiceFS 官方的托管服务,你的数据仍然存储在你自己的对象存储中,但数据对应的元数据会被存储在 JuiceFS 官方提供的高可用元数据存储集群中。

Skip to main content

What is JuiceFS?

JuiceFS is a high-performance shared filesystem designed for cloud environments, released under AGPL v3.0 license. Provides complete POSIX compatibility, which can use massive and low-cost cloud storage as a local disk, and can also be mounted and read by multiple hosts at the same time.

Using JuiceFS to store data, the data itself will be persisted in object storage (e.g. Amazon S3), and the metadata corresponding to the data will be persisted in various databases such as Redis, MySQL, and SQLite according to your needs.

JuiceFS provides a wealth of APIs that can seamlessly connect to the big data, machine learning, artificial intelligence and other application platforms that have been put into production without modifying the code, and provide them with massive, flexible, and low-cost high-performance storage.

Core Features

  1. POSIX compatible: Use like a local file system, seamlessly docking with existing applications, without business intrusion;
  2. HDFS compatible: Fully compatible with HDFS API, ideal for big data cluster to achieve storage and computer disaggregated;
  3. S3 compatible: Provide S3 Gateway to achieve S3-compatible interface;
  4. Cloud Native: JuiceFS can be easily used in Kubernetes through the Kubernetes CSI Driver;
  5. Sharing: The same file system can be mounted on thousands of servers at the same time, high-performance concurrent reading and writing, and data sharing;
  6. Strong consistency: The confirmed modification will be immediately visible on all servers mounted with the same file system to ensure strong consistency;
  7. Strong performance: millisecond latency, almost unlimited throughput (depending on the scale of object storage);
  8. Data Security: Support encryption in transit and encryption at rest;
  9. File Lock: Support BSD lock (flock) and POSIX lock (fcntl);
  10. Data compression: Support using LZ4 or Zstandard to compress data and save your storage space;

Tips: JuiceFS is suitable for the management, analysis, archiving, and backup of data in all file formats. In particular, it can support the data storage needs of big data analysis and machine learning. It\'s also a scalable replacement for NAS.

The POSIX-compatibility provides a seamless migrating experience. You can easily replace your existing solutions (such as: local disk, NFS, or HDFS) with JuiceFS with zero cost, and you no longer need to maintain the system by yourselves. Your team can focus exclusively on product development with all the hassles of managing a large scale storage system gone.

Architecture

JuiceFS file system consists of three parts:

  • JuiceFS Client: Coordinate the implementation of object storage and metadata storage engines, as well as file system interfaces such as POSIX, Hadoop, Kubernetes, and S3 gateway.
  • Data Storage: Store the data itself, support local disk and object storage.
  • Metadata Engine: Metadata corresponding to the stored data, supporting multiple engines such as Redis, MySQL, and TiKV;

image

As a file system, JuiceFS will process data and its corresponding metadata separately, the data will be stored in the object storage, and the metadata will be stored in the metadata engine.

In terms of data storage, JuiceFS supports almost all public cloud object storage services, as well as privatized object storage such as OpenStack Swift, Ceph, and MinIO.

In terms of metadata storage, JuiceFS adopts a multi-engine design, and currently supports Redis, TiKV, MySQL/MariaDB, PostgreSQL, SQLite as metadata service engines, and will continue to implement more metadata engine. Welcome to Submit Issue to feedback your needs!

In terms of the implementation of file system interface:

  • With FUSE, the JuiceFS file system can be mounted to the server in a POSIX compatible manner, and the massive cloud storage can be used directly as local storage.
  • With Hadoop Java SDK, the JuiceFS file system can directly replace HDFS, providing Hadoop with low-cost mass storage.
  • With Kubernetes CSI Driver, the JuiceFS file system can directly provide mass storage for Kubernetes.
  • Through S3 Gateway, applications that use S3 as the storage layer can be directly accessed, and tools such as AWS CLI, s3cmd, and MinIO client can be used to access the JuiceFS file system.

Use Cases

JuiceFS is designed for massive data storage. It can be a replacement of many distributed filesystem and network filesystem, especially in the following scenarios:

  • Big Data Analytics: JuiceFS has the same interface as accessing local files, so your application will not be bounded to external APIs. It can also work seamlessly with popular distributed computation frameworks such as Apache Spark, Hadoop, Hive, etc. It has unlimited expandable storage space, and you do not need to maintain the service by yourself. The ability to provide high concurrencies and high throughput will let JuiceFS meet the performance need of data analytics.
  • Shared Workspace: JuiceFS does not have any VPC limitation so you can mount it to any machines. There is no limitation on concurrent read and write. POSIX API is compatible with all your existing data stream and scripts.
  • Shared Volume Storage Between Container Clusters: JuiceFS perfectly satisfies the need of persistent storage of container volumes, and it is independent from the life cycle of containers. The strong consistency assures the correctness of your data. JuiceFS will also make it easier for you to create stateless services.
  • Backup: POSIX is the most friendly and the most familiar interface for engineers. It is as easy as managing files on local disks. The storage space can be expanded seamlessly to any size you need. Replication across regions and clouds helps you build your global infrastructure. The flexible requirements allows JuiceFS can be blended into your existing architecture without compromises. Snapshot can be used to recover and validate your data.

Privacy

JuiceFS is open source software that uses object storage and database to store data and its corresponding metadata respectively. The data you store will be split into data blocks according to certain rules and stored in the object storage you define, and the metadata corresponding to the data is stored in the database you define. If necessary, you can read the code of JuiceFS to further understand and audit the design of data privacy.

Note: If you are using the official JuiceFS hosted service, your data is still stored in the object storage you define, but the metadata corresponding to the data will be stored in the high-availability metadata storage cluster officially provided by JuiceFS.