Skip to main content

数据同步

juicefs sync 是强大的数据同步工具,可以在所有支持的存储之间并发同步或迁移数据,包括对象存储、JuiceFS、本地文件系统,你可以在这三者之间以任意方向和搭配进行数据同步。除此之外,还支持同步通过 SSH 访问远程目录、HDFS、WebDAV 等,同时提供增量同步、模式匹配(类似 rsync)、分布式同步等高级功能。

混用社区版和企业版客户端

juicefs sync 功能的代码在社区版和企业版之间共享代码,因此即便交叉混用不同版本的 JuiceFS 客户端,sync 命令也能正常工作——除了一个特例,就是使用 jfs:// 协议头的情况。社区版和企业版客户端有着不同的元数据引擎实现,因此如果用到了 jfs:// 协议头,则不能混用不同版本的客户端。

juicefs sync 用法如下:

juicefs sync [command options] SRC DST

# 从 OSS 同步到 S3
juicefs sync oss://mybucket.oss-cn-shanghai.aliyuncs.com s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com

# 从 S3 直接同步到 JuiceFS
juicefs sync s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

# 源端:a1/b1,a2/b2,aaa/b1 目标端:empty 同步结果:aaa/b1
juicefs sync --exclude='a?/b*' s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

# 源端:a1/b1,a2/b2,aaa/b1 目标端:empty 同步结果:a1/b1,aaa/b1
juicefs sync --include='a1/b1' --exclude='a[1-9]/b*' s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

# 源端:a1/b1,a2/b2,aaa/b1,b1,b2 目标端:empty 同步结果:a1/b1,b2
juicefs sync --include='a1/b1' --exclude='a*' --include='b2' --exclude='b?' s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

模式匹配

撰写同步命令的时候首先需要注意:SRCDST 如果以 / 结尾将被视为目录(比如 movies/)。没有以 / 结尾则会被视为「前缀」,将按照前缀匹配的规则进行匹配,例如,当前目录下有 testtext 两个目录,使用以下命令可以将它们同步到目标路径 ~/mnt/

juicefs sync ./te ~/mnt/

使用这种方式,sync 命令会以 te 前缀匹配当前路径下所有包含该前缀的目录或文件,即 testtext,上方的命令会将他们拷贝到 ~/mnt/ 这个目录下。

如果调整目标路径的前缀,例如将目标前缀改为 ab,那么拷贝文件还会伴随着重命名:

# 目标路径中同步来的 `test` 目录名会变成 `abst`,`text` 会变成 `abxt`。
juicefs sync ./te ~/mnt/ab

类似 rsync,你可以用 --exclude--include 来过滤需要同步的文件,并通过多个规则的组合实现任意集合的同步,规则如下:

  • / 结尾的模式会仅匹配目录,否则会匹配文件、链接或设备;
  • 包含 *?[ 字符时会以通配符模式匹配,否则按照常规字符串匹配;
  • * 匹配任意非空路径组件,在 / 处停止匹配;
  • ? 匹配除 / 外的任意字符;
  • [ 匹配一组字符集合,例如 [a-z][[:alpha:]]
  • 在通配符模式中,反斜杠可以用来转义通配符,但在没有通配符的情况下,会按字面意思匹配;
  • 始终以模式作为前缀递归匹配;
  • 在使用包含/排除规则时,位置在前的选项优先级更高。--include 应该排在前面,如果先设置 --exclude '*' 排除了所有文件,那么后面的 --include 'xxx' 包含规则就不会生效。

例如,同步所有文件,但排除隐藏文件(以 . 为开头命名均被视为隐藏文件):

# 排除隐藏文件
juicefs sync --exclude '.*' /tmp/dir/ s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected]/

重复该选项匹配更多规则,例如,排除所有隐藏文件、pic/ 目录 和 4.png

juicefs sync --exclude '.*' --exclude 'pic/' --exclude '4.png' /tmp/dir/ s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected]

使用 --include 选项设置要包含的目录或文件,例如,只同步 pic/4.png 两个文件,其他文件都排除:

juicefs sync --include 'pic/' --include '4.png' --exclude '*' /tmp/dir/ s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected]
提示

模式匹配还可以实现删除存储系统中特定文件。诀窍是在本地创建一个空目录,将其作为 SRC

示范如下,谨慎起见,所有示范均添加了 --dry --debug 选项,因此命令不会实际删除任何文件,而是打印执行计划。验证成功后,去掉这两个选项便能实际执行:

mkdir empty-dir
# 删除 mybucket 中所有对象,但保留后缀名为 .gz 的文件
juicefs sync ./empty-dir/ s3://xxx:[email protected]/ --delete-dst --exclude=*.gz --dry --debug
# 删除 mybucket 中所有后缀名为 .gz 的文件
juicefs sync ./empty-dir/ s3://xxx:[email protected]/ --delete-dst --include=*.gz --dry --debug

同步行为

无挂载点同步

在两个存储系统之间同步数据,如果其中一方是 JuiceFS,推荐直接使用 jfs:// 协议头,而不是先挂载 JuiceFS,再访问本地目录。这样便能跳过挂载点,直接读取或写入数据(该过程依然需要读取客户端配置文件,可以使用 juicefs auth 命令提前做好认证、生成配置文件),在大规模场景下,绕过 FUSE 挂载点将能节约资源开销以及提升数据同步性能。

增量同步与全量同步

juicefs sync 默认以增量同步方式工作,对于已存在的文件,仅在文件大小不一样时,才再次同步进行覆盖。在此基础上,还可以指定 --update,在源文件 mtime 更新时进行覆盖。如果你的场景对正确性有着极致要求,可以指定 --check-new--check-all,来对两边的文件进行字节流比对,确保数据一致。

如需全量同步,即不论目标路径上是否存在相同的文件都重新同步,可以使用 --force-update

目录结构与文件权限

默认情况下,空目录不会被同步。如需同步空目录,可以使用 --dirs 选项。

另外,在本地、SFTP、HDFS 等文件系统之间同步时,如需保持文件权限,可以使用 --perms 选项。

本地目录之间同步时,支持通过设置 --links 选项开启遇到符号链时同步其自身而不是其指向的对象的功能。同步后的符号链接指向的路径为源符号链接中存储的原始路径,无论该路径在同步前后是否可达都不会被转换,注意:

  • 符号链接自身的 mtime 不会被拷贝;
  • --check-new--perms 选项的行为在遇到符号链接时会被忽略。

数据同步与碎片合并

当目的地是 JuiceFS 文件系统的时候,推荐使用 jfs:// 协议头,这种方式不需要 FUSE 挂载点,能减少资源开销,并且还针对碎片合并导致的写放大问题进行了优化。

如果必须使用 FUSE 挂载点来同步数据,那么对于大文件同步场景,建议调整挂载参数 --flush-wait=60,将默认 5 秒一次的持久化改为 60 秒,减少碎片量导致的写放大。详细阅读写放大的排查以了解更多。

加速同步

juicefs sync 默认启用 10 个线程执行同步任务,可以根据需要设置 --threads 选项调大或减少线程数。但也要注意,受限于有限的单机资源,一味增加 --threads 未必能持续提升同步速度,反而可能会导致 OOM。因此如果同步速度不足,还需要考虑:

  • SRCDST 的存储系统是否已经达到了带宽上限,如果其中一个存储已经到达带宽限制,同步的瓶颈就在这里,增加并发度也不会继续提升同步速度;
  • 单机资源是否吃紧,比如 CPU、网卡拥堵。如果同步受限于单机资源,那么可以考虑:
    • 如果运行环境有硬件条件更好的节点(CPU、网络出口带宽等),可以换用该节点来运行 juicefs sync,通过 SSH 访问源数据,例如 juicefs sync root@src:/data /jfs/data
    • 使用分布式同步,在下方相关小节介绍。
  • 如果同步的数据以小文件为主,并且 SRC 的存储系统的 list API 性能极佳,那么 juicefs sync 默认的单线程 list 可能会成为瓶颈。此时考虑启用并发 list 操作,在下一小节介绍。

并发 list

juicefs sync 命令的输出中,关注 Pending objects 的数量,如果该值持续为 0,说明消费速度大于生产,可以增大 --list-threads 来启用并发 list,以及用 --list-depth 来控制并发 list 的目录深度。

比方说,如果你面对的是 JuiceFS 所使用的对象存储服务,那么目录结构为 /<vol-name>/chunks/xxx/xxx/...,对于这样的目录结构,使用 --list-depth=2 来实现对于 /<vol-name>/chunks 的并发列表操作,是比较合适的选择。

分布式同步

在两个对象存储之间同步数据,就是从一端拉取数据再推送到另一端,同步的效率取决于客户端与云之间的带宽:

JuiceFS-sync-single

在同步大量数据时,单机带宽往往会被占满出现瓶颈,针对这种情况,考虑使用多机并发同步:

JuiceFS-sync-worker

Manager 作为主控执行 sync 命令,通过 --worker 参数定义多个 Worker 节点(Manager 自身也参与同步),JuiceFS 会根据 Worker 的总数量,动态拆分同步任务并分发给各个节点并发执行,单位时间内能处理的数据量更大,总带宽也成倍增加。

在配置多机并发同步任务时,需要提前配置好 Manager 节点到 Worker 节点的 SSH 免密登录,如果 Worker 节点的 SSH 端口不是默认的 22,请在 Manager 节点的 ~/.ssh/config 设置其端口号。Manager 会将 JuiceFS 客户端程序分发到 Worker 节点,为避免兼容性问题,Manager 和 Worker 应使用相同类型和架构的操作系统。

举例说明,用分布式同步的方式进行对象存储间的数据同步:

juicefs sync --worker [email protected],[email protected] s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected] oss://ABCDEFG:[email protected]

运行这个命令后,当前节点与两个 Worker 节点 [email protected][email protected] 将共同分担数据同步任务。

上方的示范中是对象存储 → 对象存储的数据同步,如果需要基于 FUSE 挂载点做数据同步,那么可以在所有节点挂载 JuiceFS,然后用类似下方的命令来进行分布式同步:

# 在所有节点挂载 JuiceFS,以 parallel-ssh 为例,需要将配置文件复制到所有节点,然后挂载
parallel-scp -h hosts.txt -r /root/.juicefs /root/.juicefs

# 源文件系统需要更好的读性能,因此增大 buffer-size
parallel-ssh -h hosts.txt -i juicefs mount jfs-src /jfs-src --buffer-size=1024 --cache-size=0

# 目标文件系统需要更好的写性能
parallel-ssh -h hosts.txt -i juicefs mount jfs-dst /jfs-dst --buffer-size=1024 --cache-size=0 --flush-wait=60 --max-uploads=50

# 挂载完毕后,用下方命令拷贝数据
juicefs sync --worker host1,host2 /jfs-src /jfs-dst

观测和监控

简单来说,用 sync 命令拷贝大文件时,进度条可能会迟迟不更新,如果担心命令未能正常工作,可以用其他手段对传输情况进行观测。

sync 假定了使用场景是拷贝大量文件,因此进度的计算也是针对多个文件设计的:每一个文件完成了拷贝后,进度会更新一次。因此如果面对的都是大文件,单个文件的拷贝速度太慢,进度条就会变化缓慢,或者呈现卡死的状态。如果目的地端协议不支持 multipart upload(比如 filesftpjfs 协议头),单个文件会单线程进行复制,无法对大文件进行并发上传。可想而知,大文件 + 不支持 multipart upload,将会更容易出现进度条卡死的情况。

如果你观察到进度不再变化,参考下列手段进行观测和排查:

  • juicefs sync 添加 --verbose 参数,打印 DEBUG 日志。
  • 如果数据同步的两方有任何一个是 JuiceFS 宿主机挂载点:
  • 如果数据同步的目的地是宿主机本地盘,可以直接观察目录下是否存在名称中带 .tmp.xxx 后缀的临时文件,sync 过程中会将传输结果写入临时文件,待传输完成后进行重命名,才完成最终的写入。观察临时文件大小是否变化,就能确定当前的写入状况。
  • 如果传输目的地均为对象存储,可以通过类似 nethogs 的命令,查看出入网流量,来判断传输进展。

如果需要监控 sync 命令的进度,可以使用 --metrics 参数指定监控指标地址,默认为 127.0.0.1:9567。用 Prometheus 抓取这些指标,就能进行监控。

使用 S3 网关进行跨区域数据同步

通过 POSIX 方式访问 JuiceFS 时,会有频繁的元数据访问,跨区域访问元数据的延迟比较高会影响访问性能。如果需要跨区域传输大量小文件,这时元数据服务延迟高对性能影响更严重。

sync via public metadata service

在这种情况下,可以通过跨区访问部署在源区域的 S3 网关来提升性能,它可以大幅减少跨区域访问的请求数。

sync via gateway

阅读「S3 网关」学习如何使用和部署 S3 网关。

Skip to main content

Data migration

juicefs sync is a powerful data migration tool, which can copy data across all supported storages including object storage, JuiceFS itself, and local file systems, you can freely copy data between any of these systems. In addition, it supports remote directories through SSH, HDFS, WebDAV, etc. while providing advanced features such as incremental synchronization, and pattern matching (like rsync), and distributed syncing.

Mixing Community Edition and Enterprise Edition

juicefs sync shares code between community edition and enterprise edition, that's why even if you use the other version, sync will continue to work normally, with one exception with jfs:// protocols. CE and EE employ different metadata implementations, so if jfs:// is involved, you can't mixed two editions.

juicefs sync works like this:

juicefs sync [command options] SRC DST

# Sync object from OSS to S3
juicefs sync oss://mybucket.oss-cn-shanghai.aliyuncs.com s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com

# Sync objects from S3 to JuiceFS
juicefs sync s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

# SRC: a1/b1,a2/b2,aaa/b1 DST: empty sync result: aaa/b1
juicefs sync --exclude='a?/b*' s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

# SRC: a1/b1,a2/b2,aaa/b1 DST: empty sync result: a1/b1,aaa/b1
juicefs sync --include='a1/b1' --exclude='a[1-9]/b*' s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

# SRC: a1/b1,a2/b2,aaa/b1,b1,b2 DST: empty sync result: a1/b1,b2
juicefs sync --include='a1/b1' --exclude='a*' --include='b2' --exclude='b?' s3://mybucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/ jfs://VOL_NAME/

Pattern matching

When composing a sync command, keep in mind that SRC and DST ending with a trailing / are treated as directories (e.g. movie/.) Those don't without a trailing / are treated as prefixes, and will be used for pattern matching. Assuming we have test and text directories in the current directory, the following command can synchronize them into the destination ~/mnt/:

juicefs sync ./te ~/mnt/

In this way, the subcommand sync takes te as a prefix to find all the matching directories, i.e. test and text. The above command will copy them to ~/mnt/.

You can also change the destination to add a prefix, effectively renaming while copying:

# The `test` directory synchronized to the destination directory will be renamed as `abst`, and `text` will be `abxt`
juicefs sync ./te ~/mnt/ab

Similar to rsync, you can use --exclude, --include patterns to build filters:

  • Patterns ending with / only matches directories; otherwise, they match files, links or devices.
  • Patterns containing *, ? or [ match as wildcards, otherwise, they match as regular strings;
  • * matches any non-empty path components (it stops at /).
  • ? matches any single character except /;
  • [ matches a set of characters, for example [a-z] or [[:alpha:]];
  • Backslashes can be used to escape characters in wildcard patterns, while they match literally when no wildcards are present.
  • It is always matched recursively using patterns as prefixes.
  • The earlier options have higher priorities than the latter ones. Thus, the --include options should come before --exclude. Otherwise, all the --include options such as --include 'pic/' --include '4.png' which appear later than --exclude '*' will be ignored.

To sync everything, but excludes hidden directories and files (name starting with . is regarded as hidden):

# Excluding hidden directories and files
juicefs sync --exclude '.*' /tmp/dir/ s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected]/

You can use this option several times with different parameters to exclude multiple patterns. For example, using the following command can exclude all hidden files, pic/ directory and 4.png:

juicefs sync --exclude '.*' --exclude 'pic/' --exclude '4.png' /tmp/dir/ s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected]

Option --include can be used to include patterns you don't want to exclude. For example, only pic/ and 4.png are synchronized and all the others are excluded:

juicefs sync --include 'pic/' --include '4.png' --exclude '*' /tmp/dir/ s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected]
tip

Pattern matching can also be used to delete specific files from the storage system. The trick is to create an empty directory locally as SRC.

The demonstrations are as follows. To be cautious, all demonstrations add the --dry --debug options, so the command will not actually delete any files, but print the execution plan. After the verification is successful, you can actually execute it by removing these two options:

mkdir empty-dir
# Delete all objects in mybucket, but keep files with the suffix .gz
juicefs sync ./empty-dir/ s3://xxx:[email protected]/ --delete-dst --exclude=*.gz --dry --debug
# Delete all files with .gz extension in mybucket
juicefs sync ./empty-dir/ s3://xxx:[email protected]/ --delete-dst --include=*.gz --dry --debug

Sync behavior

Sync without a mount point

For data migrations that involve JuiceFS, it's recommended use the jfs:// protocol, rather than mount JuiceFS and access its local directory, which bypasses the FUSE mount point and access JuiceFS directly. This process still requires the client configuration file, you should prepare in advance using juicefs auth. Under large scale scenarios, bypassing FUSE can save precious resources and increase performance.

Incremental and full synchronization

By default, juicefs sync performs incremental synchronization, existing files are overwritten when their sizes don't match. On top of this, you can also use --update to copy files when source files' mtime are newer. For scenarios with higher demand for data integrity, use --check-new or --check-all to perform byte stream comparison between SRC and DST.

For full synchronization (copy everything no matter already exists or not), use --force-update.

Directory structure and file permissions

juicefs sync skips empty directories by default. To synchronize empty directories, you can use --dirs option.

In addition, when synchronizing between file systems such as local, SFTP and HDFS, option --perms can be used to synchronize file permissions.

You can use --links option to disable symbolic link resolving when synchronizing local directories. That is, synchronizing only the symbolic links themselves rather than the directories or files they are pointing to. The new symbolic links created by the synchronization refer to the same paths as the original symbolic links without any conversions, no matter whether their references are reachable before or after the synchronization. Also note that:

  • The mtime of a symbolic link will not be synchronized;
  • The --check-new and --perms options will be ignored when synchronizing symbolic links.

Data sync and compaction

When destination is a JuiceFS file system, the jfs:// protocol is preferred because it needs no FUSE mount point (saves overhead), and also it's already optimized for file fragmentation problems.

If you absolutely have to use a FUSE mount point to carry out data migration, then for large file scenarios, it's recommended to add the --flush-wait=60s option, this will effectively reduce the number of slices and reduce write amplification. Read troubleshooting write amplification to learn more.

Under large file scenarios, pay special attention to the compaction problem: if upload bandwidth is limited, or write load is too big, writing big files can create much more data fragments, and compacting them will cause further write amplification. This problem exists only with FUSE mount points, if you're using the jfs:// protocol, then the optimizations mentioned below is already integrated in the software, no need to read further.

If you notice abnormal compaction traffic (can be checked in the file system monitor tab), it's possible that the slow sync speed caused file fragmentation. When mounting using JuiceFS Client, the default --flush-wait is 5 seconds, meaning that all writes will be uploaded and persisted to object storage every 5 seconds. Evidently, when copying files with high concurrency, the frequent flush will quickly deteriorate the fragmentation situation. To fix this, add --flush-wait=60 to the mount options,

Accelerate synchronization

juicefs sync by default starts 10 threads to run syncing jobs, you can set the --threads option to increase or decrease the number of threads as needed. But also note that due to resource limits on a single node, blindly increasing --threads may not always work but cause OOM instead. You should also consider:

  • SRC and DST storage systems may have already reached their bandwidth limits, if this is indeed the bottleneck, further increasing concurrency will not improve the situation;
  • Performing juicefs sync on a single host may be limited by host resources, e.g. CPU or network throttle, if this is the case, consider the following:
    • If there's a higher spec machine available in you environment, preferably with better CPU or bandwidth, use this node instead to run juicefs sync, and access source data via SSH, for example, juicefs sync root@src:/data /jfs/data;
    • use distributed synchronization (introduced below).
  • If the synchronized data is mainly small files, and the list API of SRC storage system has excellent performance, then the default single-threaded list of juicefs sync may become a bottleneck. You can consider enabling concurrent list (introduced below).

Concurrent list

From the output of juicefs sync, pay attention to the Pending objects count, if this value stays zero, consumption is faster than production and you should increase --list-threads to enable concurrent list, and then use --list-depth to control list depth.

For example, if you're dealing with a object storage bucket used by JuiceFS, directory structure will be /<vol-name>/chunks/xxx/xxx/..., using --list-depth=2 will perform concurrent listing on /<vol-name>/chunks which usually renders the best performance.

Distributed synchronization

Synchronizing between two object storages is essentially pulling data from one and pushing it to the other. The efficiency of the synchronization will depend on the bandwidth between the client and the cloud.

JuiceFS-sync-single

When copying large scale data, node bandwidth can easily bottleneck the synchronization process. For this scenario, juicefs sync provides a multi-machine concurrent solution, as shown in the figure below.

JuiceFS-sync-worker

Manager node executes sync command as the master, and defines multiple worker nodes by setting option --worker (manager node itself also serve as a worker node). JuiceFS will split the workload distribute to Workers for distributed synchronization. This increases the amount of data that can be processed per unit time, and the total bandwidth is also multiplied.

When using distributed syncing, you should configure SSH logins so that the manager can access all worker nodes without password, if SSH port isn't the default 22, you'll also have to include that in the manager's ~/.ssh/config. Manager will distribute the JuiceFS Client to all worker nodes, so they should all use the same architecture to avoid running into compatibility problems.

For example, to synchronize data between two object storage services:

juicefs sync --worker [email protected],[email protected] s3://ABCDEFG:[email protected] oss://ABCDEFG:[email protected]

The synchronization workload between the two object storages is shared by the manager machine and the two Workers [email protected] and [email protected].

Observation

Simply put, when using sync to transfer big files, progress bar might move slowly or get stuck. If this happens, you can observe the progress using other methods.

sync assumes it's mainly used to copy a large amount of files, its progress bar is designed for this scenario: progress only updates when a file has been transferred. In a large file scenario, every file is transferred slowly, hence the slow or even static progress bar. This is worse for destinations without multipart upload support (e.g. file, sftp, jfs, schemes), where every file is transferred single-threaded.

If progress bar is not moving, use below methods to observe and troubleshoot:

  • Add --verbose or --debug option to the juicefs sync command to print debug logs.

  • If either end is a JuiceFS mount point:

  • If destination is a local disk, look for temporary files that end with .tmp.xxx, these are the temp files created by sync, they will be renamed upon transfer complete. Look for size changes in temp files to verify the current I/O status.

  • If both end are object storage services, use tools like nethogs to check network IO.

  • When non of the above methods retrieve useful debug information, please collect its goroutine and send to Juicedata engineers:

    # Replace <PID> with actual PID of the stuck sync process
    # This command will print its pprof listen port
    lsof -p <PID> | grep TCP | grep LISTEN
    # pprof port is typically 6061, but in the face of port conflict,
    # port number will be automatically increased
    curl -s localhost:6061/debug/pprof/goroutine?debug=1

Sync across regions using S3 Gateway

When transferring a large amount of small files across different regions via FUSE mount points, clients will inevitably talk to the metadata service in the opposite region via public internet (or dedicated network connection with limited bandwidth). In such cases, metadata latency can become the bottleneck of the data transfer:

sync via public metadata service

S3 Gateway comes to rescue in these circumstances: deploy a gateway in the source region, and since this gateway accesses metadata via private network, metadata latency is eliminated to a minimum, bringing the best performance for small file intensive scenarios.

sync via gateway

Read S3 Gateway to learn its deployment and use.