Skip to main content

JuiceFS 元数据备份和恢复

提示
  • JuiceFS v0.15.2 开始支持元数据手动备份、恢复和引擎间迁移。
  • JuiceFS v1.0.0 开始支持元数据自动备份

手动备份

JuiceFS 支持多种元数据存储引擎,且各引擎内部的数据管理格式各有不同。为了便于管理,JuiceFS 提供了 dump 命令允许将所有元数据以统一格式写入到 JSON 文件进行备份。同时,JuiceFS 也提供了 load 命令,允许将备份恢复或迁移到任意元数据存储引擎。命令的详细信息请参考这里

元数据备份

使用 JuiceFS 客户端提供的 dump 命令可以将元数据导出到文件,例如:

juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379/1 meta.dump

该命令默认从根目录 / 开始,深度遍历目录树下所有文件,将每个文件的元数据信息按 JSON 格式写入到文件。

注意

juicefs dump 仅保证单个文件自身的完整性,不提供全局时间点快照的功能,如在 dump 过程中业务仍在写入,最终结果会包含不同时间点的信息。

Redis、MySQL 等数据库都有其自带的备份工具,如 Redis RDBmysqldump 等,使用它们作为 JuiceFS 元数据存储,你仍然有必要用各个数据库自身的备份工具定期备份元数据。

juicefs dump 的价值在于它能将完整的元数据信息以统一的 JSON 格式导出,便于管理和保存,而且不同的元数据存储引擎都可以识别并导入。在实际应用中,dump 命令于数据库自带的备份工具应该共同使用,相辅相成。

注意

以上讨论的仅为元数据备份,完整的文件系统备份方案还应至少包含对象存储数据的备份,如异地容灾、回收站、多版本等。

元数据恢复

特别提示

JSON 备份只能恢复到 新创建的数据库空数据库 中。

使用 JuiceFS 客户端提供的 load 命令可以将已备份的 JSON 文件中的元数据导入到一个新的空数据库中,例如:

juicefs load redis://192.168.1.6:6379/1 meta.dump

该命令会自动处理因包含不同时间点文件而产生的冲突问题,并重新计算文件系统的统计信息(空间使用量,inode 计数器等),最后在数据库中生成一份全局一致的元数据。另外,如果你想自定义某些元数据(请务必小心),可以尝试在 load 前手动修改 JSON 文件。

元数据迁移

特别提示

元数据迁移操作要求目标数据库是 新创建的空数据库

得益于 JSON 格式的通用性,JuiceFS 支持的所有元数据存储引擎都能识别,因此可以将元数据信息从一种引擎中导出为 JSON 备份,然后再导入到另外一种引擎,从而实现元数据在不同类型引擎间的迁移。例如:

$ juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379/1 meta.dump
$ juicefs load mysql://user:password@(192.168.1.6:3306)/juicefs meta.dump

也可以通过系统的 Pipe 直接迁移:

$ juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379/1 | juicefs load mysql://user:password@(192.168.1.6:3306)/juicefs
风险提示

为确保迁移前后文件系统内容一致,需要在迁移过程中停止业务写入。另外,由于迁移后仍使用原来的对象存储,在新的元数据引擎上线前,请确保旧的引擎已经下线或仅有对象存储的只读权限,否则可能造成文件系统损坏。

元数据检视

除了可以导出完整的元数据信息,dump 命令还支持导出特定子目录中的元数据。因为导出的 JSON 内容可以让用户非常直观地查看到指定目录树下所有文件的内部信息,因此常被用来辅助排查问题。例如:

$ juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379/1 meta.dump --subdir /path/in/juicefs

另外,也可以使用 jq 等工具对导出文件进行分析。

注意

为保证服务稳定,请不要在线上环境 dump 过于大的目录。

自动备份

从 JuiceFS v1.0.0 开始,不论文件系统通过 mount 命令挂载,还是通过 JuiceFS S3 网关及 Hadoop Java SDK 访问,客户端每小时都会自动备份元数据并拷贝到对象存储。

备份的文件存储在对象存储的 meta 目录中,它是一个独立于数据存储的目录,在挂载点中不可见,也不会与数据存储之间产生影响,用对象存储的文件浏览器即可查看和管理。

默认情况下,JuiceFS 客户端每小时备份一次元数据,自动备份的频率可以在挂载文件系统时通过 --backup-meta 选项进行调整,例如,要设置为每 8 个小时执行一次自动备份:

$ sudo juicefs mount -d --backup-meta 8h redis://127.0.0.1:6379/1 /mnt

备份频率可以精确到秒,支持的单位如下:

  • h:精确到小时,如 1h
  • m:精确到分钟,如 30m1h30m
  • s:精确到秒,如 50s30m50s1h30m50s;

自动备份策略

虽然自动备份元数据成为了客户端的默认动作,但在多主机共享挂载同一个文件系统时并不会发生备份冲突。

JuiceFS 维护了一个全局的时间戳,确保同一时刻只有一个客户端执行备份操作。当客户端之间设置了不同的备份周期,那么就会以周期最短的设置为准进行备份。

备份清理策略

JuiceFS 会按照以下规则定期清理备份:

  • 保留 2 天以内全部的备份;
  • 超过 2 天不足 2 周的,保留每天中的 1 个备份;
  • 超过 2 周不足 2 月的,保留每周中的 1 个备份;
  • 超过 2 个月的,保留每个月中的 1 个备份。

Skip to main content

Metadata Backup & Recovery

tip
  • JuiceFS v0.15.2 started to support manual backup, recovery and inter-engine migration of metadata.
  • JuiceFS v1.0.0 starts to support automatic metadata backup

Manual Backup

JuiceFS supports multiple metadata storage engines, and each engine has a different data management format internally. To facilitate management, JuiceFS provides dump command which allows to write all metadata in a uniform format to JSON file for backup. Also, JuiceFS provides load command which allows to restore or migrate backups to any metadata storage engine. For more information on the command, please refer to here.

Metadata Backup

Metadata can be exported to a file using the dump command provided by the JuiceFS client, e.g.

juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379 meta.dump

By default, this command starts from the root directory / and iterates deeply through all the files in the directory tree, and writes the metadata information of each file to a file in JSON format.

note

juicefs dump only guarantees the integrity of individual files and does not provide a global point-in-time snapshot. If transactions are being written during the dump process, the final exported files will contain information from different points in time.

Redis, MySQL and other databases have their own backup tools, such as Redis RDB and mysqldump, etc. Still, you need to back up metadata regularly with the corresponding backup tool.

The value of juicefs dump is that it can export complete metadata information in a uniform JSON format for easy management and preservation, and it can be recognized and imported by different metadata storage engines. In practice, the dump command should be used in conjunction with the backup tool that comes with the database to complement each other.

note

The above discussion is for metadata backup only. A complete file system backup solution should also include object storage data backup at least, such as offsite disaster recovery, recycle bin, multiple versions, etc.

Metadata Recovery

tip

JSON backups can only be restored to a newly created database or an empty database.

Metadata from a backed up JSON file can be imported into a new empty database using the load command provided by the JuiceFS client, e.g.

juicefs load redis://192.168.1.6:6379 meta.dump

This command automatically handles conflicts due to the inclusion of files from different points in time, recalculates the file system statistics (space usage, inode counters, etc.), and finally generates a globally consistent metadata in the database. Alternatively, if you want to customize some of the metadata (be careful), you can try to manually modify the JSON file before loading.

tip

To ensure the security of object storage secretKey and sessionToken, the secretKey and sessionToken in the backup file obtained by juicefs dump is changed to "removed". Therefore, after the 'juicefs load' is executed to restore it to the metadata engine, you need to use juicefs config --secret-key xxxx META-URL to reset secretKey.

Metadata Migration Between Engines

tip

The metadata migration operation requires newly created database or empty database as the target database.

Thanks to the universality of the JSON format, the JSON file can be recognized by all metadata storage engines supported by JuiceFS. THus, it is possible to export metadata information from one engine as a JSON backup and then import it to another engine, implementing the migration of metadata between different types of engines. For example,

$ juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379 meta.dump
$ juicefs load mysql://user:password@(192.168.1.6:3306)/juicefs meta.dump

It is also possible to migrate directly through the system's Pipe.

$ juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379 | juicefs load mysql://user:password@(192.168.1.6:3306)/juicefs
caution

To ensure consistency of the file system content before and after migration, you need to stop transaction writing during the migration process. Also, since the original object storage is still used after migration, make sure that the old engine is offline or has read-only access to the object storage before the new metadata engine comes online; otherwise it may cause file system corruption.

Metadata Inspection

In addition to exporting complete metadata information, the dump command also supports exporting metadata in specific subdirectories. The exported JSON content is often used to help troubleshoot problems because it allows users to view the internal information of all the files under a given directory tree intuitively. For example.

$ juicefs dump redis://192.168.1.6:6379 meta.dump --subdir /path/in/juicefs

Moreover, you can use tools like jq to analyze the exported file.

note

Please don't dump a directory that is too big in an online system as it may slow down the server.

Automatic Backup

Starting with JuiceFS v1.0.0, the client automatically backs up metadata and copies it to the object storage every hour, regardless of whether the file system is mounted via the mount command or accessed via the JuiceFS S3 gateway and Hadoop Java SDK.

The backup files are stored in the meta directory of the object storage. It is a separate directory from the data store and not visible in the mount point and does not interact with the data store, and the directory can be viewed and managed using the file browser of the object storage.

tip

Automatic backup use Gzip compression, the backup files end with .gz and need to be decompressed with the gzip -d command first.

By default, the JuiceFS client backs up metadata once an hour. The frequency of automatic backups can be adjusted by the --backup-meta option when mounting the filesystem, for example, to set the auto-backup to be performed every 8 hours.

sudo juicefs mount -d --backup-meta 8h redis://127.0.0.1:6379/1 /mnt

The backup frequency can be accurate to the second and it supports the following units.

  • h: accurate to the hour, e.g. 1h.
  • m: accurate to the minute, e.g. 30m, 1h30m.
  • s: accurate to the second, such as 50s, 30m50s, 1h30m50s;

It is worth mentioning that the time cost of backup will increase with the number of files in the filesystem. Hence, when the number is too large (by default 1 million) with the automatic backup frequency 1 hour (by default), JuiceFS will automatically skip backup and print the corresponding warning log. At this point you may mount a new client with a bigger --backup-meta option value to re-enable automatic backups.

For reference, when using Redis as the metadata engine, backing up the metadata for one million files takes about 1 minute and consumes about 1GB of memory.

Automatic Backup Policy

Although automatic metadata backup becomes a default action for clients, backup conflicts do not occur when multiple hosts share the same filesystem mount.

JuiceFS maintains a global timestamp to ensure that only one client performs the backup operation at the same time. When different backup periods are set between clients, then it will back up based on the shortest period setting.

Backup Cleanup Policy

JuiceFS periodically cleans up backups according to the following rules.

  • Keep all backups up to 2 days.
  • For backups older than 2 days and less than 2 weeks, keep 1 backup for each day.
  • For backups older than 2 weeks and less than 2 months, keep 1 backup for each week.
  • For backups older than 2 months, keep 1 backup for each month.