Skip to main content

Redis 最佳实践

当采用 Redis 作为 JuiceFS 元数据存储引擎时,即由 Redis 负责存储所有元数据并响应客户端对元数据的操作。若 Redis 出现连接不稳定、服务不可用或元数据丢失等问题,可能会导致读写速度慢或数据损坏等情况。

建议

强烈建议使用云平台提供的 Redis 托管服务,详情查看「推荐的 Redis 托管服务」。

对于自主维护的 Redis 数据库,建议了解以下几个方面:

注意

本文部分内容来自 Redis 官网,若有不一致的表述,请以 Redis 官方文档为准。

内存使用量

JuiceFS 元数据引擎的使用空间主要与文件系统中的文件数量有关,根据我们的经验,每一个文件的元数据会大约占用 300 字节内存。因此,如果要存储 1 亿个文件,大约需要 30GiB 内存。

你可以通过 Redis 的 INFO memory 命令查看具体的内存使用量,例如:

> INFO memory
used_memory: 19167628056
used_memory_human: 17.85G
used_memory_rss: 20684886016
used_memory_rss_human: 19.26G
...
used_memory_overhead: 5727954464
...
used_memory_dataset: 13439673592
used_memory_dataset_perc: 70.12%

其中 used_memory_rss 是 Redis 实际使用的总内存大小,这里既包含了存储在 Redis 中的数据大小(也就是上面的 used_memory_dataset),也包含了一些 Redis 的系统开销(也就是上面的 used_memory_overhead)。前面提到每个文件的元数据大约占用 300 字节是通过 used_memory_dataset 来计算的,如果你发现你的 JuiceFS 文件系统中单个文件元数据占用空间远大于 300 字节,可以尝试运行 juicefs gc 命令来清理可能存在的冗余数据。

数据可用性

注意

JuiceFS 使用 「Redis 事务」保证元数据操作的原子性。但由于 Redis Cluster 集群模式不支持事务(Transactions),因此 Redis 集群不可用作 JuiceFS 元数据存储。如有 Redis 高可用需求,请使用 Sentinel 哨兵模式。

Redis 哨兵 是 Redis 官方的高可用解决方案,它提供以下功能:

  • 监控,哨兵会不断检查您的 master 实例和 replica 实例是否按预期工作。
  • 通知,当受监控的 Redis 实例出现问题时,哨兵可以通过 API 通知系统管理员或其他计算机程序。
  • 自动故障转移,如果 master 没有按预期工作,哨兵可以启动一个故障转移过程,其中一个 replica 被提升为 master,其他的副本被重新配置为使用新的 master,应用程序在连接 Redis 服务器时会被告知新的地址。
  • 配置提供程序,哨兵会充当客户端服务发现的权威来源:客户端连接到哨兵以获取当前 Redis 主节点的地址。如果发生故障转移,哨兵会报告新地址。

Redis 2.8 开始提供稳定版本的 Redis 哨兵。Redis 2.6 提供的第一版 Redis 哨兵已被弃用,不建议使用。

在使用 Redis 哨兵之前,您需要了解一些基础知识

  1. 您至少需要三个哨兵实例才能进行稳健的部署。
  2. 这三个哨兵实例应放置在彼此独立的计算机或虚拟机中。例如,分别位于不同的可用区域上的不同物理服务器或虚拟机上。
  3. 由于 Redis 使用异步复制,无法保证在发生故障时能够保留已确认的写入。 然而,有一些部署 哨兵的方法,可以使丢失写入的窗口限于某些时刻,当然还有其他不太安全的部署方法。
  4. 如果您不在开发环境中经常进行测试,就无法确保 HA 的设置是安全的。在条件允许的情况,如果能够在生产环境中进行验证则更好。错误的配置往往都是在你难以预期和响应的时间出现(比如,凌晨 3 点你的 master 节点悄然罢工)。
  5. 哨兵、Docker 或其他形式的网络地址转换或端口映射应谨慎混用:Docker 执行端口重映射,会破坏其他哨兵进程的哨兵自动发现以及 master 的 replicas 列表。

更多信息请阅读官方文档

部署了 Redis 服务器和哨兵以后,META-URL 可以指定为 redis[s]://[[USER]:PASSWORD@]MASTER_NAME,SENTINEL_ADDR[,SENTINEL_ADDR]:SENTINEL_PORT[/DB],例如:

juicefs mount redis://:password@masterName,1.2.3.4,1.2.5.6:26379/2 ~/jfs
提示

对于 JuiceFS v0.16 及以上版本,URL 中提供的密码会用于连接 Redis 服务器,哨兵的密码需要用环境变量 SENTINEL_PASSWORD 指定。对于更早的版本,URL 中的密码会同时用于连接 Redis 服务器和哨兵,也可以通过环境变量 SENTINEL_PASSWORDREDIS_PASSWORD 来覆盖。

数据持久性

Redis 提供了不同范围的持久性选项:

  • RDB:以指定的时间间隔生成当前数据集的快照。
  • AOF:记录服务器收到的每一个写操作,在服务器启动时重建原始数据集。命令使用与 Redis 协议本身相同的格式以追加写(append-only)的方式记录。当日志变得太大时,Redis 能够在后台重写日志。
  • RDB+AOF 建议:组合使用 AOF 和 RDB。在这种情况下,当 Redis 重新启动时,AOF 文件将用于重建原始数据集,因为它保证是最完整的。

当使用 AOF 时,您可以有不同的 fsync 策略:

  1. 没有 fsync;
  2. 每秒 fsync 默认
  3. 每次查询 fsync。

默认策略「每秒 fsync」是不错的选择(fsync 是使用后台线程执行的,当没有 fsync 正在进行时,主线程会努力执行写入),但你可能丢失最近一秒钟的写入

磁盘可能会损坏,虚拟机可能会消失,即使采用 RBD+AOF 模式,依然需要定期备份 Redis 数据

Redis 对数据备份非常友好,因为您可以在数据库运行时复制 RDB 文件,RDB 一旦生成就永远不会被修改,当它被生成时,它使用一个临时名称,并且只有在新快照完成时才使用 rename 原子地重命名到其最终目的地。您还可以复制 AOF 文件以创建备份。

更多信息请阅读官方文档

备份 Redis 数据

磁盘会损坏、云实例会消失,请务必备份数据库!

默认情况下,Redis 将数据集的快照保存在磁盘上,名为 dump.rdb 的二进制文件中。你可以根据需要,将 Redis 配置为当数据集至少发生 M 次变化时,每 N 秒保存一次,也可以手动调用 SAVEBGSAVE 命令。

Redis 对数据备份非常友好,因为您可以在数据库运行时复制 RDB 文件:RDB 一旦生成就永远不会被修改,当它被生成时,它使用一个临时名称,并且只有在新快照完成时才使用 rename(2) 原子地重命名到其最终目的地。

这意味着在服务器运行时复制 RDB 文件是完全安全的。以下是我们的建议:

  • 在您的服务器中创建一个 cron 任务,在一个目录中创建 RDB 文件的每小时快照,并在另一个目录中创建每日快照。
  • 每次 cron 脚本运行时,请务必调用 find 命令以确保删除太旧的快照:例如,您可以保留最近 48 小时的每小时快照,以及一至两个月的每日快照。要确保使用数据和时间信息来命名快照。
  • 确保每天至少一次将 RDB 快照从运行 Redis 的实例传输至 数据中心以外 或至少传输至 物理机以外

更多信息请阅读官方文档


推荐的 Redis 托管服务

Amazon ElastiCache for Redis

Amazon ElastiCache for Redis 是为云构建的完全托管的、与 Redis 兼容的内存数据存储。它提供自动故障切换自动备份等功能以确保可用性和持久性。

说明

Amazon ElastiCache for Redis 有两种类型:禁用集群模式和启用集群模式。因为 JuiceFS 使用事务来保证元数据操作的原子性,所以不能使用「启用集群模式」类型。

Google Cloud Memorystore for Redis

Google Cloud Memorystore for Redis 是针对 Google Cloud 的完全托管的 Redis 服务。通过利用高度可扩展、可用且安全的 Redis 服务,在 Google Cloud 上运行的应用程序可以实现卓越的性能,而无需管理复杂的 Redis 部署。

Azure Cache for Redis

Azure Cache for Redis 是一个完全托管的内存缓存,支持高性能和可扩展的架构。使用它来创建云或混合部署,以亚毫秒级延迟处理每秒数百万个请求——所有这些都具有托管服务的配置、安全性和可用性优势。

阿里云 ApsaraDB for Redis

阿里云 ApsaraDB for Redis 是一种兼容原生 Redis 协议的数据库服务。它支持混合内存和硬盘以实现数据持久性。云数据库 Redis 版提供高可用的热备架构,可扩展以满足高性能、低延迟的读写操作需求。

说明

ApsaraDB for Redis 支持 3 种类型的架构:标准、集群和读写分离。因为 JuiceFS 使用事务来保证元数据操作的原子性,所以不能使用集群类型架构。

腾讯云 TencentDB for Redis

腾讯云 TencentDB for Redis 是一种兼容 Redis 协议的缓存和存储服务。丰富多样的数据结构选项,帮助您开发不同类型的业务场景,提供主从热备份、容灾自动切换、数据备份、故障转移、实例监控、在线等一整套数据库服务缩放和数据回滚。

说明

TencentDB for Redis 支持两种类型的架构:标准和集群。因为 JuiceFS 使用事务来保证元数据操作的原子性,所以不能使用集群类型架构。

Skip to main content

Redis Best Practices

This is a guide about Redis best practices. Redis is a critical component in JuiceFS architecture. It stores all the file system metadata and serve metadata operation from client. If Redis has any problem (either service unavailable or lose data), it will affect the user experience.

tip

It's highly recommended to use Redis service managed by public cloud provider if possible. See "Recommended Managed Redis Service" for more information.

If you still want to operate Redis by yourself in production environment, please keep in mind that JuiceFS requires Redis version 4.0+. Moreover, it's recommended to pick an official stable version, and read the following contents before deploying Redis.

note

Part of the content in this article comes from the Redis official website. If there is any inconsistency, please refer to the official Redis document.

Memory usage

The space used by the JuiceFS metadata engine is mainly related to the number of files in the file system. According to our experience, the metadata of each file occupies approximately 300 bytes of memory. Therefore, if you want to store 100 million files, approximately 30 GiB of memory is required.

You can check the specific memory usage through Redis's INFO memory command, for example:

> INFO memory
used_memory: 19167628056
used_memory_human: 17.85G
used_memory_rss: 20684886016
used_memory_rss_human: 19.26G
...
used_memory_overhead: 5727954464
...
used_memory_dataset: 13439673592
used_memory_dataset_perc: 70.12%

Among them, used_memory_rss is the total memory size actually used by Redis, which includes not only the size of data stored in Redis (that is, used_memory_dataset above), but also some Redis system overhead (that is, used_memory_overhead above). As mentioned earlier, the metadata of each file occupies about 300 bytes and is calculated by used_memory_dataset. If you find that the metadata of a single file in your JuiceFS file system occupies much more than 300 bytes, you can try to run juicefs gc command to clean up possible redundant data.

High Availability

caution

JuiceFS uses "Redis transactions" to guarantee the atomicity of metadata operations. However, since Redis Cluster does not support transaction, Redis Cluster cannot be used as a JuiceFS metadata store. For high availability of Redis, please use Redis Sentinel.

Redis Sentinel is the official high availability solution for Redis. It provides following capabilities:

  • Monitoring. Sentinel constantly checks if your master and replica instances are working as expected.
  • Notification. Sentinel can notify the system administrator, or other computer programs, via an API, that something is wrong with one of the monitored Redis instances.
  • Automatic failover. If a master is not working as expected, Sentinel can start a failover process where a replica is promoted to master, the other additional replicas are reconfigured to use the new master, and the applications using the Redis server are informed about the new address to use when connecting.
  • Configuration provider. Sentinel acts as a source of authority for clients service discovery: clients connect to Sentinels in order to ask for the address of the current Redis master responsible for a given service. If a failover occurs, Sentinels will report the new address.

A stable release of Redis Sentinel is shipped since Redis 2.8. Redis Sentinel version 1, shipped with Redis 2.6, is deprecated and should not be used.

There're some fundamental things you need to know about Redis Sentinel before using it:

  1. You need at least three Sentinel instances for a robust deployment.
  2. The three Sentinel instances should be placed into computers or virtual machines that are believed to fail in an independent way. So for example different physical servers or Virtual Machines executed on different availability zones.
  3. Sentinel + Redis distributed system does not guarantee that acknowledged writes are retained during failures, since Redis uses asynchronous replication. However there are ways to deploy Sentinel that make the window to lose writes limited to certain moments, while there are other less secure ways to deploy it.
  4. There is no HA setup which is safe if you don't test from time to time in development environments, or even better if you can, in production environments, if they work. You may have a misconfiguration that will become apparent only when it's too late (at 3am when your master stops working).
  5. Sentinel, Docker, or other forms of Network Address Translation or Port Mapping should be mixed with care: Docker performs port remapping, breaking Sentinel auto discovery of other Sentinel processes and the list of replicas for a master.

Please read the official documentation for more information.

Once Redis servers and Sentinels are deployed, the META-URL can be specified as redis[s]://[[USER]:PASSWORD@]MASTER_NAME,SENTINEL_ADDR[,SENTINEL_ADDR]:SENTINEL_PORT[/DB], for example:

$ ./juicefs mount redis://:password@masterName,1.2.3.4,1.2.5.6:26379/2 ~/jfs
tip

For v0.16+, the PASSWORD in the URL will be used to connect Redis server, the password for Sentinel should be provided using environment variable SENTINEL_PASSWORD. For early versions, the PASSWORD is used for both Redis server and Sentinel, they can be overrode by environment variables SENTINEL_PASSWORD and REDIS_PASSWORD.

tip

Since JuiceFS v1.0.0, it is supported to connect only Redis replica nodes when mounting file systems to reduce the load on Redis master node. In order to enable this feature, you must mount the JuiceFS file system in read-only mode (that is, set the --read-only mount option), and connect to the metadata engine through the Redis Sentinel. Finally, you need to add ?route-read=replica to the end of the metadata URL. For example: redis://:password@masterName,1.2.3.4,1.2.5.6:26379/2?route-read=replica.

It should be noted that since the data of the Redis master node is asynchronously replicated to the replica nodes, it is possible that the metadata read may not be the latest.

Data Durability

Redis provides a different range of persistence options:

  • RDB: The RDB persistence performs point-in-time snapshots of your dataset at specified intervals.
  • AOF: The AOF persistence logs every write operation received by the server, that will be played again at server startup, reconstructing the original dataset. Commands are logged using the same format as the Redis protocol itself, in an append-only fashion. Redis is able to rewrite the log in the background when it gets too big.
  • RDB+AOF Recommended: It is possible to combine both AOF and RDB in the same instance. Notice that, in this case, when Redis restarts the AOF file will be used to reconstruct the original dataset since it is guaranteed to be the most complete.

When using AOF, you can have different fsync policies:

  1. No fsync
  2. fsync every second Default
  3. fsync at every query

With the default policy of fsync every second write performances are still great (fsync is performed using a background thread and the main thread will try hard to perform writes when no fsync is in progress.) but you can only lose one second worth of writes.

The disk may be damaged, the virtual machine may disappear, even if the RBD+AOF mode is adopted, Redis data needs to be backed up regularly.

Redis is very data backup friendly since you can copy RDB files while the database is running: the RDB is never modified once produced, and while it gets produced it uses a temporary name and is renamed into its final destination atomically using rename only when the new snapshot is complete. You can also copy the AOF file in order to create backups.

Please read the official documentation for more information.

Backing up Redis Data

Make Sure to Backup Your Database. Disks break, instances in the cloud disappear, and so forth.

By default Redis saves snapshots of the dataset on disk, in a binary file called dump.rdb. You can configure Redis to have it save the dataset every N seconds if there are at least M changes in the dataset, or you can manually call the SAVE or BGSAVE commands.

Redis is very data backup friendly since you can copy RDB files while the database is running: the RDB is never modified once produced, and while it gets produced it uses a temporary name and is renamed into its final destination atomically using rename(2) only when the new snapshot is complete.

This means that copying the RDB file is completely safe while the server is running. This is what we suggest:

  • Create a cron job in your server creating hourly snapshots of the RDB file in one directory, and daily snapshots in a different directory.
  • Every time the cron script runs, make sure to call the find command to make sure too old snapshots are deleted: for instance you can take hourly snapshots for the latest 48 hours, and daily snapshots for one or two months. Make sure to name the snapshots with data and time information.
  • At least one time every day make sure to transfer an RDB snapshot outside your data center or at least outside the physical machine running your Redis instance.

Please read the official documentation for more information.

Restore Redis Data

After generating the AOF or RDB backup file, you can restore the data by copying the backup file to the path corresponding to the dir configuration of the new Redis instance, which you can get by using the CONFIG GET dir command.

If both AOF and RDB persistence are enabled, Redis will start using the AOF file first to recover the data because AOF is guaranteed to be the most complete data.

After recovering Redis data, you can continue to use the JuiceFS file system with the new Redis address. It is recommended to run juicefs fsck command to check the integrity of the file system data.


Amazon ElastiCache for Redis

Amazon ElastiCache for Redis is a fully managed, Redis-compatible in-memory data store built for the cloud. It provides automatic failover, automatic backup features to ensure availability and durability.

info

Amazon ElastiCache for Redis has two type: cluster mode disabled and cluster mode enabled. Because JuiceFS uses transaction to guarantee the atomicity of metadata operations, so you couldn't use "cluster mode enabled" type.

Google Cloud Memorystore for Redis

Google Cloud Memorystore for Redis is a fully managed Redis service for the Google Cloud. Applications running on Google Cloud can achieve extreme performance by leveraging the highly scalable, available, secure Redis service without the burden of managing complex Redis deployments.

Azure Cache for Redis

Azure Cache for Redis is a fully managed, in-memory cache that enables high-performance and scalable architectures. Use it to create cloud or hybrid deployments that handle millions of requests per second at sub-millisecond latency-all with the configuration, security, and availability benefits of a managed service.

Alibaba Cloud ApsaraDB for Redis

Alibaba Cloud ApsaraDB for Redis is a database service that is compatible with native Redis protocols. It supports a hybrid of memory and hard disks for data persistence. ApsaraDB for Redis provides a highly available hot standby architecture and can scale to meet requirements for high-performance and low-latency read/write operations.

info

ApsaraDB for Redis supports 3 type architectures: standard, cluster and read/write splitting. Because JuiceFS uses transaction to guarantee the atomicity of metadata operations, so you couldn't use cluster type architecture.

Tencent Cloud TencentDB for Redis

Tencent Cloud TencentDB for Redis is a caching and storage service compatible with the Redis protocol. It features a rich variety of data structure options to help you develop different types of business scenarios, and offers a complete set of database services such as primary-secondary hot backup, automatic switchover for disaster recovery, data backup, failover, instance monitoring, online scaling and data rollback.

info

TencentDB for Redis supports 2 type architectures: standard and cluster. Because JuiceFS uses transaction to guarantee the atomicity of metadata operations, so you couldn't use cluster type architecture.